Melinda Bak

Content Strategist, Copy Editor, Copywriter, Developmental Editor, Editor, Ghostwriter, Writer, Writer Manager

Senior Level Writer | SEO storytelling | I find the incredible in Your Story

WRITES FOR DIVERSE AND FOCUSED AUDIENCES - able to make complex, technical, and sensitive topics engaging.

WEBSITE - content strategist, author, traffic-generating blog writer, social links to drive inbound traffic (strong SEO).
SPEECHWRITER - executive research/presentations, aligns with voice/cadence, makes your mission contagious.
REPORTS - whitepapers, ebooks, guides, direct mail, interviews, press releases that get results.
EDITOR - professional and social copy, books, long and short form, with high performance metrics.
25-YEARS - proven experience creating engaging communication.

TOPIC EXPERTISE - Nonprofit Management-Development-Communication, Executive Educator, Communications Department Lead (Web, Social, Digital, Video, Live-Streaming), School Leader, Nonprofit Executive, Entrepreneur, Business Management Coach and Instructor, Parenting Class Instructor, Author, Speaker, Trainer, International Initiatives, Cultural Inclusion Specialist, Active LIfestyle.

JOURNALIST (BA) and CERTIFIED DIGITAL MARKETING PROFESSIONAL (CDMP) who can deliver fast copy or do the deep-dive that a paper, study, article, speech or ebook require.
Categories
Content Types
Article, Blog Post, Buyers Guide, Case Study, Direct Mail, Ebook, Guide, Interview, Page Layout, Presentation, Press Release, Social Copy, Website Copy, Whitepaper
More Information
University of Wisconsin, Madison, BA Journalism
St. Thomas OPUS School of Business, CDMP - Certified Digital Marketing Professional
Luther Northwestern Sminary, Master of Divinity - Leadership
Minneapolis|English
Publications

Published Content

12
Is your adult small group open or closed?
blog.wearesparkhouse.orgBlog Post
Is your adult small group open or closed?
September, 13 2018
Landing Page (How can I make my website work better?)
goodleadmedia.comLanding Page
Landing Page (How can I make my website work better?)
August, 20 2018
What you do. Amazing. Let's show the World.
goodleadmedia.comWebsite Copy
What you do. Amazing. Let's show the World.
September, 1 2018
Across the Wadi by Camel - Writing Sample.pdf
PDF upload
Website Copy
Across the Wadi by Camel - Writing Sample.pdf
August, 15 2017
Saving a seat (and other Christian norms that speak "cliquish")
blog.wearesparkhouse.orgBlog Post
Saving a seat (and other Christian norms that speak "cliquish")
September, 20 2018
How do I choose the Right Dock & Boat Lift for MN?
10000docks.comWebsite Copy
How do I choose the Right Dock & Boat Lift for MN?
August, 10 2018
How adult small groups say welcome that can sometimes say clique
blog.wearesparkhouse.orgBlog Post
How adult small groups say welcome that can sometimes say clique
September, 20 2018
Commissioned by Clearvoice Client - How to handle small group cliques
blog.wearesparkhouse.orgBlog Post
Commissioned by Clearvoice Client - How to handle small group cliques
August, 30 2018
Trusted Lake Service Provider
10000docks.comWebsite Copy
Trusted Lake Service Provider
August, 1 2018
Commissioned by Clearvoice Client - Faith & the Fourth of July
PDF upload
Commissioned by Clearvoice Client - Faith & the Fourth of July
May, 15 2018
7 facts | Are you in the Minority?
threefaiths.orgBlog Post
7 facts | Are you in the Minority?

Addressing stereotype with research. Graphics, research, copy.

July, 27 2016
Gets it Done | Collaborative Fusion
melindabak.infoWebsite Copy
Gets it Done | Collaborative Fusion

Resume Website

January, 30 2017

storytelling & content

7
Communications Strategist - Timeline.JPG
Image upload
Guide
Communications Strategist - Timeline.JPG
First Somali American Legislator
linkedin.comArticle
First Somali American Legislator

News article

November, 17 2016
Event Speaker
threefaiths.orgAd/Promotional Copy
Event Speaker
Twin Cities' Refugees
threefaiths.orgWebsite Copy
Twin Cities' Refugees

seo copy links to other pages with a CTR rate of 44%

Knocking. Incessant knocking.
melindabak.infoAd/Promotional Copy
Knocking. Incessant knocking.

Writing Samples - Reports, Media, Social, Articles, Whitepapers

November, 1 2017
Myanmar - Writing Sample.pdf
PDF upload
Article
Myanmar - Writing Sample.pdf
Whose in your Wallet - Writing Sample.pdf
PDF upload
Article
Whose in your Wallet - Writing Sample.pdf

traffic generation & SEO

7
Anayltics: CPC .02 / Reach 2,917, Engagement 516 / Increase of 6350%
facebook.comSocial Copy
Anayltics: CPC .02 / Reach 2,917, Engagement 516 / Increase of 6350%

Social Copy with website conversion. Spent $6.00 over 3-Days: CPC .02 -REACH 2,917 / INCREASE of 16,194% -ENGAGEMENTS 516 (Organic and Paid) / INCREASE 6350% -PAGE VIEWS 116 - INCREASE 132% Photo and COpy by Melinda Bak

March, 3 2018
time to schedule your fall dock removal
10000docks.comWebsite Copy
time to schedule your fall dock removal

Challenge: engage potential customers with content and ease of access. (Pre-existing website was dated and full of non-funtioning links, bereft of SEO). September note from Business Owner: "Wednesday a guy scheduled a phone call appt. I called him on Friday at the scheduled time, went to his house and sold him both a dock and lift sercie!!!! IT WORKS!!! I just love it. He said his wife found my website and he said, 'Kudos on the website, it's very nice!' They had been looking and knew that it was new. Good job!!! And thank you.

August, 1 2018
Analytics: 132% Increase in Page Views with Social | "Across the Wadi by Camel"
threefaiths.orgWebsite Copy
Analytics: 132% Increase in Page Views with Social | "Across the Wadi by Camel"

See adjacent Social Copy with website conversion: Spent $6.00 over 3-Days: CPC .02 with PAGE VIEW INCREASE of 132% -REACH 2,917 / INCREASE of 16,194% -ENGAGEMENTS 516 (Organic and Paid) / INCREASE 6350% Photo and Copy by Melinda Bak https://www.facebook.com/ThreeFaiths/photos/a.1644537705863165.1073741828.1644521545864781/1953295594987373/?type=3&theater

March, 2 2018
One Team | Super Bowl Ad has Faith
linkedin.comBlog Post
One Team | Super Bowl Ad has Faith

leveraging current events to promote cause website Increase in Organic Search: 75% Increase in Direct Search: 283%

February, 5 2018
Doing good work - but lacking traffic?
goodleadmedia.comWebsite Copy
Doing good work - but lacking traffic?
July, 16 2018
Infographic
melindabak.infoInfographic
Infographic

Graphic sample - Resume

December, 1 2017
Who's in your wallet?
linkedin.comArticle
Who's in your wallet?
April, 22 2016
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